Change language
Page Last modified 17 Mar 2023
2 min read
The EEA is governed by a Management Board and Bureau, with a Scientific Committee in an advisory capacity. The Executive Director is responsible to the management board for the implementation of the programmes and for the day-to-day running of the EEA.

Our vision is to enable a sustainable Europe through trusted and actionable knowledge for informed decision-making on environment and climate priorities and solutions, in line with Europe’s policy ambitions.

Along with our vision and mission, the EEA-Eionet Strategy outlines our strategic objectives and areas of work for the period 2021-2030. Our detailed work is planned and implemented through Single Programming Documents, which include annual priorities. And our consolidated annual activity reports describe the work that has been carried out in the respective years.


EEA governanceManagement Board

The EEA Management Board consists of one representative of each of the member countries, two representatives of the Commission and two scientific experts designated by the European Parliament. Among its tasks, the Management Board adopts the multi-annual work programme, the annual work programmes and the annual reports, appoints the Executive Director and designates the members of the Scientific Committee. 


The Bureau is composed of the Chairperson, up to five vice-chairpersons, one Commission representative and one of the members designated by the European Parliament. The Bureau is entitled to take executive decisions, necessary for the effective operation of the Agency in between meetings of the Management Board.

Read more about the Management Board and the Bureau

Executive Director

The Executive Director is responsible to the Management Board for the implementation of the programmes and for the day-to-day running of the EEA.

Hans Bruyninckx is the Executive Director of the European Environment Agency, taking office on 1 June 2013. He was born in Schoten, Belgium, in 1964. Dr Bruyninckx studied undergraduate and master’s degrees in political science specialising in international relations at Antwerp University and Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. He also completed an additional programme in development studies at Université Catholique de Louvain.

Read more

Senior Management Team

The Senior Management Team consists of the Executive Director, Senior Adviser and Heads of Programme and meets regularly to manage the day-to-day activities of the EEA.


EEA Staff

All members of the agency’s staff must respect the Code of Good Administrative behaviour in their relations with the public. This is complemented by a Policy for the management and prevention of conflicts of interest and an Anti-fraud strategy.

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee advises the Management Board and the Executive Director.  It has three major tasks:

  • To deliver an opinion on the EEA multi-annual and annual work-programmes;
  • To give an opinion to the Executive Director for the purposes of recruitment of the Agency's scientific staff;
  • To provide advice and/or opinion on any scientific matter concerning the Agency's activity, which the management board or the Executive Director may submit to it.

Read more


Geographic coverage


Filed under:
Filed under: governance
Document Actions