Changes in European fishing fleet capacity.

Figure Created 12 Nov 2009 Published 12 Nov 2009 Last modified 29 Nov 2012
Note: new version is available!
Topics: ,
Countries have been grouped into the following categories: EU-15: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Finland, Sweden, United Kingdom


European data


Additional information

EFTA: Iceland and Norway. EU-7: Estonia, Cyprus, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Poland, and Slovenia. Bulgaria and Romania. Power, tonnage, number of vessels, and average size of vessel changes refer to 1998-2006 for EU-15 and EFTA. Tonnage and number changes for EU-7 refers to the period 1995-2006, but no data available from the years 1996-2003. Tonnage and number of vessels changes for Romania and Bulgaria refers to the period 1989-1995 (no recent data available). The period 1998-2006 for EU-15 and EFTA has been chosen in order to make comparisons between these countries groups. Older data are available for e.g. EU-15 and these data are reflected in Figure 2.

Filed under: ,
European Environment Agency (EEA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Copenhagen K
Phone: +45 3336 7100