EEA Scientific Committee

Page Last modified 15 Mar 2023
1 min read
The Scientific Committee assists the EEA Management Board and the Executive Director in providing scientific advice and delivering professional opinion on any scientific matter in the areas of work undertaken by the Agency.

What are the Committee's tasks?

The Scientific Committee has three major tasks:

  • To deliver an opinion on the EEA multiannual and annual work-programmes;
  • To give an opinion to the Executive Director for the purposes of recruitment of the Agency's scientific staff;
  • To provide advice and/or opinion on any scientific matter concerning the Agency's activity, which the Management Board or the Executive Director may submit to it.

Who are the members of the Committee?

The Committee is composed of independent scientists from the EEA member countries, covering a variety of environmental fields relevant for the Agency's areas of activity. The chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Committee are elected from amongst its members.
The total number of members in the Scientific Committee shall not exceed 20 experts. The members are identified through an open selection process and appointed for a four-year term, renewable once.

Scientific Committee members are required to sign a declaration of commitment and a declaration on conflicts of interest on a yearly basis. Declarations of commitment and on conflict of interests are published on the EEA webpage.

Rules of procedure of the Scientific Committee


Geographic coverage


Filed under:
Filed under: scientific commitee
Document Actions