Early 2010 EU ETS emissions available in EEA data viewer

08 Apr 2011

The EU Emissions Trading System (EU ETS) is one of the main and most prominent measures introduced by the EU to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver its greenhouse gas emission targets under both the UNFCCC Kyoto Protocol and the EU's climate and energy package.

Early officially-verified emissions data covering around 90 % of the emissions under the EU ETS for the year 2010 is now available through the European Environment Agency's (EEA) on-line data viewer. The source of the data is the verified emissions reported by countries to the EU's Community Independent Transaction Log (CITL), run by the European Commission. The online EU ETS data viewer is a tool to help exploring the information contained in the CITL, aimed to support decision-makers, market players and other stakeholders in their assessment of the EU ETS.

Notes on the 2010 EU ETS data

The 27 EU Member States are covered by the EU ETS and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein also joined in 2008. The recorded verified emissions for 2010 are considered complete or nearly complete for 19 countries (Austria, Belgium, Estonia, Finland, Germany, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom). Denmark, Latvia and Slovakia (93-94 %) as well as Romania (88 %) have submitted a substantial part of their verified emissions. Data for Bulgaria (24 %) and the Czech Republic (0.0 %) are not complete enough for analyses.


Document Actions