The European Environment Agency’s (EEA) Management Board gets a new chairperson today as André Weidenhaupt takes over from Laura Burke at the end of her term. Mr Weidenhaupt is Director-General at Luxembourg’s Ministry of the Environment, Climate and Sustainable Development. 

André Weidenhaupt of Luxembourg starts as the new Chair of the EEA Management Board, today, on 1 September 2023, after being elected by the Board in June. Mr Weidenhaupt continues as Director-General at his country’s Ministry of Environment, Climate and Sustainable development, a position he has held since 2014. He is also member of the Bureau of OECD’s Environmental Policy Committee (EPOC). 

The EEA and its network have a crucial role in providing the right knowledge to accelerate Europe’s sustainability transition. This work is now more important than ever and I am fully committed to facilitating the excellent collaboration between the Agency and its Management Board and all relevant stakeholders.

André Weidenhaupt

EEA Management Board Chair

Laura Burke and André Weidenhaupt

Photo: Laura Burke and André Weidenhaupt, 8 June 2023

The outgoing Chair, Laura Burke, served at the helm of the EEA Management Board for two full terms since 2017 whilst also leading the work of the Irish Environmental Protection Agency. 

“It has been a great honour to lead the work of the EEA Management Board for the past six years. During that time, environment and climate have taken centre stage in European decision-making, and the Agency has played a key role supporting those policies. I am very proud of what we have achieved together with the Board, the Agency and its network”, said Laura Burke. 

“I want to sincerely thank Laura Burke for her excellent leadership in the EEA Management Board and I look forward to continuing the same close collaboration and dialogue with André Weidenhaupt. Our joint efforts to provide independent, trusted and actionable knowledge on environment and climate are crucial for Europe and its citizens”, said Leena Ylä-Mononen, EEA Executive Director

About the Management Board

The Management Board is the main decision-making body of the EEA. The Board appoints the EEA Executive Director and members of the Scientific Committee, and adopts the Agency’s Strategy, work programme, and budget. The Board consists of 36 members: representatives of 32 EEA member countries, the European Commission and experts designated by the European Parliament. 

Our latest press releases