About Eionet

Change language
Page Last modified 17 Aug 2017
1 min read
The European environment information and observation network (Eionet) is a partnership network of the EEA and its member and cooperating countries.

The EEA is responsible for developing the network and coordinating its activities. To do so, the EEA works closely together with national focal points (NFPs), typically national environment agencies or environment ministries. They are responsible for coordinating national networks involving many institutions.

The NFPs are responsible for coordinating networks of the National Reference Centres (NRCs), bringing together experts from national institutions and other bodies involved in environmental information.

Taking up its work in 1994, Eionet has become a well-known and trusted provider of high‑quality data, information and assessments for Europe.

The concept of Eionet encompasses the following defining elements:

• Strong institutional cooperation across several levels (national, regional, European, international) as well as partnerships with civil society, facilitated by a coordinating entity
• Agreed common content — data, information, indicators, analyses
• Shared infrastructures, standards and tools.

Eionet connects diagram

Member and cooperating countries

The EEA now has 33 member countries and six cooperating countries. The 33 member countries include the 28 European Union Member States together with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey.

The six West Balkan countries are cooperating countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia as well as Kosovo[i]. These cooperation activities are integrated into Eionet and are supported by the European Union under the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance.

The EEA also engages in international cooperation beyond its own member and cooperating countries.


EEA member countries
Click on the map to enlarge the view


European Topic Centres

Apart from the NFPs and NRCs, Eionet currently covers six European Topic Centres (ETCs) in the areas of:



More information:

Related content

European Environment Agency (EEA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Copenhagen K
Phone: +45 3336 7100