Marine protected area coverage in the EU, 2012-2021

Figure Created 06 Feb 2023 Published 06 Mar 2023 Last modified 08 Feb 2024
2 min read
The figure shows marine protected areas coverage in the EU in 2012-2021.

European data


Additional information

  • Data up to 2019 show marine protected area coverage for the EU-27 and the UK (excluding landlocked countries); after 2019, data show coverage for only the EU-27 (excluding landlocked countries).
  • Geographical coverage is "EU-27+UK" but excluding landlocked countries since it's an indicator for marine protected areas coverage. Therefore, the list of EU countries covered by this indicator includes: Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.


Geographic coverage

Temporal coverage

Document Actions