Personal tools


Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sound and independent information
on the environment


SOER Country

Country profile - Distinguishing factors (Bulgaria)

more info
Executive Environment Agency
Organisation name
Executive Environment Agency
Reporting country
Organisation website
Organisation website
Contact link
Contact link
Last updated
15 Jul 2011
Content license
CC By 2.5
Content provider
Executive Environment Agency

Located in south-eastern Europe, Bulgaria shares borders with Romania, Greece, Turkey, Serbia and the Republic of Macedonia. To the east the Black Sea defines the extent of the country. Bulgaria’s land area is 110 993 square kilometres and the total border length is 2 245 km. Bulgaria is divided into 28 oblasts or regions and 262 obshtinas or municipalities (Source: NSI -

Bulgaria is located within the temperate climate belt and has two climate zones, divided by the Stara Planina mountain range. Winters are generally colder in northern Bulgaria and milder in southern Bulgaria. Winter temperatures vary from zero to -7˚C and on rare occasions, temperatures may drop to -20˚C. In spring, the weather is unsettled, which is typical of a continental climate. The climate is particularly suitable for fruit trees and their produce has been famous across Europe for centuries. Summers are hot and stifling in the north, especially along the Danube. Southern Bulgaria is influenced by Mediterranean weather and does not feature the same temperature extremes, generally staying within the temperate limits of 28-30˚C. Autumn is typically wetter than spring and most rain falls in May, October and November.

Country profile: read more

Browse by topic


Geographic coverage


European Environment Agency (EEA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Copenhagen K
Phone: +45 3336 7100