Personal tools


Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sound and independent information
on the environment

You are here: Home / About EEA / Competitions / Waste·smART - competition (CLOSED) / Waste•smART Competition rules

Waste•smART Competition rules

Page Last modified 31 May 2013, 10:43 AM
The European Environment Agency (EEA) invites you to share your views about waste in Europe in a new creative competition, Waste•smART. Express your thoughts through a photo, video or cartoon. Competition winners will receive a cash prize, and all finalists have a chance of getting their work promoted by the EEA and its partners across Europe.

How to enter

  1. Create your photo, short video or cartoon, following the guidelines in these Competition rules.
  2. Upload the file to an online sharing site, such as Youtube, Vimeo, Flickr, Shutterfly, Snapfish or Photobucket.
  3. Fill in the online submission form, providing a link to your image or video.

Submission period: 1 June - 30 September 2013 at 12:00 (CET).

Entry is free. You must have full copyrights to the submitted material. Submission of an entry will be taken to mean acceptance of these Competition rules and the Terms and Conditions.

General rules

The competition is open to citizens of the 32 EEA member countries and 7 West Balkan cooperating countries[1]. All participants must be 18 or older.

One entrant may submit maximum five entries in total in the competition. As each entry will be handled separately, you are required to fill out the online submission form for each entry.

You must have full copyrights to the submitted material. All competition submissions must not include any endorsements of products or services, or any obscene, violent, racist or defamatory content. Incomplete entries or entries that do not comply with the formal specifications will be automatically disqualified.

Submissions may also not be accepted into the contest if the image or video in the entry features an identifiable individual who has not given their consent to appear or if the image or video features advertising or trademarks which would otherwise require the EEA to obtain permission to use.

Photo category requirements

Photo category submissions must contain one photograph and accompanying text.

  • Photo: In jpeg-format, minimum resolution of 2000 pixels for the long side of the photograph.
  • Text: Short title and a text of maximum 1000 characters when translated into English

Video category requirements

Video category submissions must contain one video and accompanying text.

  • Video: Length of no less than 30 seconds, and no more than 90 seconds (including credits, should those be featured). Frame aspect ratio: 16:9.
  • Text: Short title and a text of maximum 1000 characters when translated into English

Cartoon category requirements

Cartoon category submissions must contain one cartoon and a title.

  • Displayed in one frame
  • In colour or black and white, with or without caption.
  • Submitted in jpeg- or pdf-format, printable in A4-size in good quality.
  • If the cartoon includes text in a language other than English, its English translation should also be submitted.

Judging Criteria

The judges will look for a creative, engaging and inspiring submission. Your entry will be judged on:

  • Relevance of your story to the competition topic
  • Creativity expressed
  • Artistic ability
  • Persuasiveness of the story

The organisers and judges reserve the right to remove any entries from the competition that they feel may breach any of the Competition rules, the Terms and Conditions or may bring the competition into disrepute. Such entries will be disqualified.

Prizes and notification of winners

The winner of each category (photo, video, cartoons) will be awarded a cash prize of EUR 500.

In addition, a Youth Prize of 500 euro will be awarded to the winning entry, selected among those submitted by persons aged between 18 and 24 (born in calendar years 1995-1989) to any of the competition categories.

All the finalists will be put forward for the People's Choice Award and may also feature in future digital and print material from the EEA and its European partners.

The winners will be notified by email therefore it is crucial to provide correct contact information.


Copyright of the materials submitted for this contest remains with the respective entrants. However, each entrant grants the EEA the right to use the submitted materials in its environmental communication crediting the copyright owners.

Confidentiality and protection of personal data

For the processing of this contest, EEA observe the rules set in Regulation (EC) No 45/2001 on the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data by Community institutions and bodies and on the free movement of such data (OJEU L 8 of 12.1.2001, p. 1).

No personal data is shared with third parties for direct marketing. For further detailed information please refer to the competition Privacy Statement or regulation (EC) No 45/2001 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 18 December 2000 on the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data by the Community institutions and bodies and on the free movement of such data.

[1] The EEA will have 33 member countries and 6 West Balkan cooperating countries when Croatia joins the EU on 1 July 2013.


European Environment Agency (EEA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Copenhagen K
Phone: +45 3336 7100