Changes of European fishing fleet capacity: 1989-2004

Figure Created 01 Jan 2002 Published 01 Jan 2002 Last modified 28 Jun 2016
Note: new version is available!
Topics: ,
The time period is not uniform for all country groupings: - EU15: 1989 - 2005 - EFTA: 1989 - 2004 - NMS: 1992 - 2005 - SEE: 1989 - 1995 Comparison of figures related to the new EU Member States before and after their EU membership is open to potential errors because of the different reporting mechanisms applied over the two periods


European data


Additional information

EU-15: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Finland, Sweden,United Kingdom EFTA: Iceland and Norway NMS (new member states): Estonia, Cyprus, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Poland, and Slovenia SEE (CC, candidate countries): Bulgaria and Romania The units of tonnage of the European fishing fleet are: Gross Tonnage (GT) for EU15 ,EFTA and NMS countries (post 2004) Gross Register Tonnage, GRT for NMS prior to EU (accession ) and EE countries

Filed under:
European Environment Agency (EEA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Copenhagen K
Phone: +45 3336 7100