

## 44<sup>th</sup> Scientific Committee 18 February 2009

## Opinion by the EEA Scientific Committee on the recruitment of scientific staff in 2008-2009

In 2008 the Agency recruited five scientific staff members (temporary agents) in the areas of NFP/Eionet, air emission, environmental accounting analysis and forward looking studies. By the end of 2008 three selection procedures were ongoing for temporary agents' posts in the field of water, SCP and waste, biodiversity and ecosystems. In addition to this, the recruitment of three scientific contract agents, experts in biodiversity indicators and environment and health, was launched in 2008 and is going to be finalised in 2009. The Scientific Committee acknowledges that in the Selection Committees for the above posts, the scientific expertise needed was sufficiently represented. The names of the Selection Committee Members for the above posts are attached to this paper.

The call for national experts launched in 2007 was finalised in 2008 and seven experts initiated their secondment in the following areas of activity: climate change, SCP, noise, transport, waste, integrated assessments/information and EURRA. A new invitation to the Management Board members to propose candidates for positions as national experts in 21 areas (among others disaster prevention, Arctic, biodiversity, air quality etc.) was launched in December 2008.

The recruitment plan for 2009 includes eleven new scientific posts in the areas of biodiversity, sustainable consumption, spatial analysis, climate change, disaster prevention, ecosystem and marine assessment, integrated environmental assessment, environment, economic and resource accounting. The high demand of new posts placed on the Agency reflects the implementation of the EEA Strategy 2009-2013 and the discussion with the European Commission on the budgetary perspectives and framework beyond 2009.

The Scientific Committee will continue to play an important role in the EEA recruitment process through raising awareness of the open EEA posts to qualified candidates with acknowledged scientific basis and also by participating in the selection processes for senior posts.

	(Signed)
	Dr. Detlef Sprinz
(	Chairman of the EEA Scientific Committee



## Overview of selection procedures for EEA scientific staff in 2008

Post reference	Job Title	Grade	Selection Committee members	Staff Committee nominees
EEA/AD/2006/3	NFP/Eionet Coordinator	AD 7	Gordon McInnes, Marion Nielsen- Hannerup, Jock Martin, Birgit Munck-Kampmann (external)	Gabriela Schöning, Galina Hristova
EEA/AD/2007/3	Project Manager – Forward Looking Studies	AD6	Jock Martin, David Stanners, Teresa Ribeiro, Michael Hofstötter	Peder Jensen
EEA/AD2007/4	Environmental Accounting Analyst	AD6	Jock Martin, Ronan Uhel, Søren Nielsen	Ann Dom
EEA/AD/2008/1	Project Manager – Air Emissions	AD6	Jeff Huntington, Aphrodite Mourelatou, Michael Hofstötter	Hermann Peifer, Anna Rita Gentile
EEA/AD/2008/3	Inland Water Expert	AD6	Jeff Huntington, Beate Werner, Søren Nielsen	Gorm Dige, Ivone Martins
EEA/AD/2008/2	Project Manager – Sustainable Consumption and Production	AD6	David Stanners, Lars Mortensen, Michael Hofstötter	Stéphane Isoard, Anke Lükewille
EEA/AD/2008/6	Project Manager – Biodiversity and Ecosystems	AD6	Jock Martin, Ivone Martins, Michael Hofstötter	Axel Volkery, Markus Erhard