

Opinion by the EEA Scientific Committee on the recruitment of scientific staff in 2017

In 2017, external recruitment procedures were completed as follows:

Temporary agents

A project manager has been recruited for SOER2020 as well as a project manager within the areas of industrial pollution and a project officer within the area of Climate change mitigation monitoring.

Contract agents

In addition to this, the Agency completed recruitment procedures for seven scientific contract agents in the areas of Copernicus land services, climate change adaptation, agriculture and agro-ecosystems, soil assessments, chemicals, environment and human health, marine sustainability assessments and integrated policy analysis. A project manager was recruited for data management and INSPIRE.

Two project officers were recruited, one for for Quality Assurance – IT development and maintenance and one for IT system administration support, both in function group III.

Ongoing recruitment procedures:

Calls have been launched for contract agents within the areas of Transport and environment, E-reporting and data flows, E-reporting on climate and energy and Biodiversity information management.

Evaluation of the SC:

The Scientific Committee continued to play an important role in the EEA recruitment process through raising awareness of the open EEA posts to qualified candidates with acknowledged scientific basis and also by participating in the selection processes. In 2017 SC members participated in the selection panels for 4 posts.

The Scientific Committee considers that the recruitment procedures undertaken for scientific staff in 2017 were overall aligned with the 2014-2020 Multi Annual Work Programme.

The Scientific Committee notes that the scientific expertise needed was sufficiently represented in the Selection Committees for the above posts. The names of the Selection Committee Members for the above posts are attached to this paper.

	SIGNED
Prof Per Mickwitz, Chair EEA Scien	tific Committee

Adopted by the Scientific Committee on 22 February 2018

Procedures/Recruitme	ent finalised 2017			
COM3	EEA/CA/2015/2 Project Manager – Press Officer / Environmental Journalist – CA FG IV	Chairperson: Katja Rosenbohm Members: Gülcin Karadeniz Andreas Manville	Michel Houssiau John James O'Doherty	
NSV	EEA/CA/2015/7 Project Manager – Copernicus land services – CA FG IV	Chairperson: Hans Dufourmont Members: Andrus Meiner Andreas Manville	Tobias Langanke	
ACC2	EEA/AD/2016/10 Project Manager – Industrial pollution – Temporary Agent (AD6)	Chairperson: Paul McAleavey Members: Eva Goossens Andreas Manville	Ove Caspersen	Peter Novak
IDM4	EEA/CA/2016/13 Project Manager – Data management and INSPIRE – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Chris Steenmans Members: Stefan Jensen Andreas Manville	Katarzyna Biala	
ACC4	EEA/CA/2016/11 Project Manager – Climate change adaptation – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Paul McAleavey Members: André Jol Andreas Manville	Johannes Schilling	Philippe Grandjean
COM3	EEA/CA/2016/12 Project Manager – Web and online communications – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Katja Rosenbohm Members: Gülcin Karadeniz Andreas Manville	Carlos De Oliveira Romao	
ACC3	EEA/AST/2016/14 Project Officer - Climate change mitigation monitoring,	Chairperson: Paul McAleavey	Sebastien Petit	

	reporting and verification – TA AST3	Members: John Van Aardenne Melanie Sporer Andreas Manville		
PAN1	Call for expression of interest – Head of Group - Eionet coordination and international cooperation	David Stanners (Chair), Søren Brostrup Nielsen (Admin Member)	Teresa Ruch Olsen	
IEA2	Call for expression of interest – Head of Group - Foresight and sustainability	Jock Martin (Chair) Mr Søren Brostrup Nielsen (Admin Member)	Eva Goossens	
NSS3	EEA/CA/2016/15 Project Manager – Agriculture and agro-ecosystems – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Ronan Uhel Members: Andrus Meiner Andreas Manville	Herdis Gudbrandsdottir	
NSS3	EEA/CA/2016/16 Project Manager – Soil assessments – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Ronan Uhel Members: Andrus Meiner Andreas Manville	Jasmina Bogdanovic	
ADS1	EEA/CA/2012/11 Project Officer – HR management – Contract Agent FG III	Lene Pedersen (Chair) Louise Plunkett (Admin Member)	Paul Hasenohr	
nr. 11 areas	2016 Call for National Experts	Hans Bruyninckx, Paul McAleavey, Martin Adams, André Jol, Jock Martin, Chris Steenmans, Jan Bliki, Ronan Uhel		
IEA1	EEA/CA/2017/1 Project Manager – Chemicals, environment and human health – Contract Agent FG IV (project: HBM4EU)	Chairperson: Ybele Hoogeveen Members: Catherine Ganzleben Andreas Manville	Zuzana Vercinska	Philippe Grandjean
NSS2	EEA/CA/2017/2 Project Manager – Marine sustainability assessments – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Ronan Uhel Members: Stéphane Isoard Andreas Manville	Christian Ansorge	

PAN	2017 Call for a National Expert – Eionet support	David Stanners, Lars Mortensen and Søren Brostrup Nielsen		
IEA2	EEA/AD/2017/4 Project Manager – SOER – Temporary Agent AD7	Chairperson: Jock Martin Members: Anita Pirc Velkavrh Andreas Manville	Gülcin Karadeniz Hans-Martin Füssel	Jean-Louis Weber
COM1	EEA/CA/2017/6 Project Manager - Visual communications / design - Contract Agent FG III	Chairperson: Katja Rosenbohm Members: Brendan Killeen Andreas Manville	Penelope Attard	
IDM1	EEA/CA/2016/1 Project Officer - IT system administration support – Contract Agent (FG III)	Chairperson: Chris Steenmans Members: Örjan Lindberg Andreas Manville	Blaz Kurnik	
IEA2 NSS3 EDO	EEA/CA/2016/17 Secretary – Contract Agent FG II	Chairperson: Ronan Uhel Members: Maria Henze Andreas Manville	Joanna Karlsen	
IEA	EEA/CA/2017/3 Project Manager – Integrated policy analysis – Contract Agent FG IV	Chairperson: Jock Martin Members: Ybele Hoogeveen Andreas Manville	Ana Tejedor	
IDM2	EEA/CA/2017/5 Project Officer - Quality Assurance – IT development and maintenance – Contract Agent FG III	Chairperson: Chris Steenmans Members: Søren Roug Andreas Manville	Penelope Attard	

ADS1	EEA/CA/2017/7 Project Manager – Training coordinator - Contract Agent (FG IV)	Chairperson: Lene Bang Pedersen Member: Luis Pinto	Illka Melleri
ACC2	Call for expression of interest – Head of Group - Industrial pollution	Paul McAleavey (Chair) and Søren B. Nielsen (Admin member	Ivone P. Martins
ACC3	Call for expression of interest – Head of Group - Climate change mitigation and energy	Paul McAleavey (Chair), Søren B. Nielsen (Admin member)	Carlos Romao
Procedures/Recruitme	nt ongoing		
ACC1	EEA/CA/2017/8 Project Manager – Transport and environment - Contract Agent (FG IV)	Chairperson: Paul McAleavey Members: Martin Adams Leonor Tarrason Andreas Manville	Antti Kaartinen
IDM	EEA/CA/2017/10 Project Manager – E-reporting and data flows – Contract Agent (FG IV)	Chairperson: Chris Steenmans Members: Ilkka Melleri Andreas Manville	Nihat Zal
ACC3	EEA/CA/2017/11 Project Manager – E-reporting on climate and energy – Contract Agent (FG IV)	Chairperson: Paul McAleavey Members: Francois Dejean Andreas Manville	Andrew Martin
NSS1	EEA/CA/2017/12 Project Manager – Biodiversity information management – Contract Agent (FG IV)	Chairperson: Ronan Uhel Members: Beate Werner Andreas Manville	Michel Houssiau
ADS2	EEA/CA/2017/13 Project Officer – Finance – Contract Agent (FG III)	Chairperson: Alan Lloyd Members: Anne-Li H.Fitzgerald Andreas Manville	Penelope Attard Sebastien Petit