Benutzerspezifische Werkzeuge

Mitteilungen
Benachrichtigungen über neue Berichte und Produkte erhalten. Häufigkeit: 3-4 E-Mails/Monat
Abonnements
${Melden Sie sich an}, um unsere Berichte (gedruckte und/oder elektronische Fassung) und unseren vierteljährlichen elektronischen Newsletter zu erhalten.
Folgen Sie uns
Twitter Icon Twitter
Facebook-Symbol Facebook
YouTube-Symbol YouTube-Kanal
RSS-Logo RSS-Feeds
Mehr

Write to us Write to us

For the public:


For media and journalists:

Contact EEA staff
Contact the web team
FAQ

Call us Call us

Reception:

Phone: (+45) 33 36 71 00
Fax: (+45) 33 36 71 99


Nächste
Vorherige
Objekte

Weiter zum Inhalt | Springe zur Navigation

Sound and independent information
on the environment

Sie sind hier: Startseite / Themen / Politische Instrumente / EUA-Aktivitäten

EUA-Aktivitäten

Sprache ändern
Die Bewertung der Wirksamkeit politischer Strategien spielt eine wichtige Rolle für die Erarbeitung und Verbesserung politischer Strategien. Die Bewertung der Wirkungen von umweltpolitischen Instrumenten der EU und die Bewertung, ob spezifische Maßnahmen tatsächlich die erwarteten Ergebnisse bewirkt haben, ist eine wichtige Aufgabe. Wir müssen schwierige Fragen stellen, wie zum Beispiel: Sind umweltpolitische Strategien tatsächlich wirksam, und sind sie wirtschaftlich? Wenn nicht, wie können sie verbessert werden? Mit diesen Fragen beschäftigt sich die EUA im Rahmen ihrer Arbeit zur Wirksamkeit politischer Strategien und zu marktwirtschaftlichen Instrumenten. Gegenwärtig wird besondere Aufmerksamkeit auf das Potenzial einer Umweltsteuerreform gelegt.

Im Bericht „Reporting on environmental measures: Are we effective?“ (Berichterstattung über Umweltmaßnahmen: Sind wir effektiv?) aus dem Jahr 2001 wird der methodische Rahmen für die von der EUA erstellten Ex-post-Bewertungen der Wirksamkeit politischer Strategien dargestellt. Das Konzept wurde während der Durchführung einiger Bewertungen – beispielsweise der Richtlinie über die Abwasserbehandlung, der Richtlinie über Verpackungen und Verpackungsabfälle und die Deponierichtlinie – entwickelt. Zur Zeit werden Studien über die Wirksamkeit marktwirtschaftlicher Instrumente für eine nachhaltige Ressourcenbewirtschaftung und über die Wirksamkeit der Umsetzung der Strukturfonds und des Kohäsionsfonds durchgeführt.

Seit 1996 berichtet die EUA regelmäßig über die Erfahrungen mit marktwirtschaftlichen Instrumenten. Dazu gehört auch die Untersuchung des Potenzials einer Umweltsteuerreform, nicht nur für die Beschäftigung, sondern auch für Innovation und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und insbesondere für die Stimulation der „ökologischen Innovation“.In diesem Rahmen gehört auch die derzeit laufende Studie „Environmental Tax Reform in Europe in the context of an ageing population in Europe: implication for eco-innovation and for household distribution“ (Umweltsteuerreform im Kontext einer alternden Bevölkerung in Europa: Implikationen für ökologische Innovation und Haushaltverteilung).

Gemeinsam mit der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) verwaltet die EUA die OECD/EUA-Datenbank für wirtschaftliche Instrumente im Bereich Umweltpolitik. Diese umfasst Informationen über umweltbezogene Steuern und Gebühren, Pfandsysteme, handelbare Emissionsrechte, umweltfreundliche Subventionen und freiwillige Vereinbarungen. Die EUA ist auch für die Informationserfassung für die 15 Länder verantwortlich, die Mitglieder der EUA, nicht aber der OECD sind.

Um die Anwendung des Vorsorgeprinzips zu unterstützen, wird gegenwärtig eine zweite Ausgabe der Veröffentlichung „Late lessons from early warnings“ (Späte Lehren aus frühen Warnungen) erstellt, die Fallstudien von Sachverständigen über die Gefahren der wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeiten des Menschen enthält.

Die EUA stellt auch das Sekretariat für das Netzwerk der Leiter der europäischen Umweltschutzbehörden.

„Taxes are the indicator of a civilised society, said Roosevelt. Is Environmental Tax Reform the indicator of a sustainable society?“ (Roosevelt sagte, dass Steuern der Indikator für eine zivilisierte Gesellschaft seien. Ist die Umweltsteuerreform der Indikator für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft?)

Jacqueline McGlade, Global Conference on Environmental Taxation (Weltkonferenz über Umweltsteuern), 2007

Geographical coverage

[+] Show Map

Dokumentaktionen

Kommentare

Jetzt anmelden!
Benachrichtigungen über neue Berichte und Produkte erhalten. Derzeit haben wir 32991 Abonnenten. Frequenz: 3-4 E-Mails pro Monat.
Benachrichtigungsarchiv
Folgen Sie uns
 
 
 
 
 
Europäische Umweltagentur (EUA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Kopenhagen K
Dänemark
Telefon: +45 3336 7100

Personal tools

Notifications
Get notifications on new reports and products. Frequency: 3-4 emails / month.
Subscriptions
Sign up to receive our reports (print and/or electronic) and quarterly e-newsletter.
Follow us
Twitter icon Twitter
Facebook icon Facebook
YouTube icon YouTube channel
RSS logo RSS Feeds
More

Write to us Write to us

For the public:


For media and journalists:

Contact EEA staff
Contact the web team
FAQ

Call us Call us

Reception:

Phone: (+45) 33 36 71 00
Fax: (+45) 33 36 71 99


next
previous
items

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sound and independent information
on the environment

You are here: Home / Environmental topics / Policy instruments / EEA activities

EEA activities

Change language
Evaluation of policy effectiveness plays an important role in the formulation and improvement of policies. Assessing the effects of EU environmental instruments, and whether specific measures have actually been effective in delivering expected results, is an essential task. We have to ask difficult questions such as: are environmental policies actually working, are they cost-effective? If not, how can they be improved? These are the questions the EEA addresses in its work on policy effectiveness and market-based instruments. Currently, particular attention is devoted to the potential of environmental tax reform.

The 2001 report Reporting on environmental measures: Are we effective? set the methodological framework for the EEA's ex-post policy effectiveness evaluations. The approach was piloted in evaluations such as those of the Waste-water Treatment Directive, the Packaging and Packaging Waste Directive and the Landfill Directive. Studies on the effectiveness of market-based instruments for sustainable resource management and on the effectiveness of implementing the Structural and Cohesion Funds are ongoing.

Since 1996 the EEA has regularly reported on the experiences of market-based instruments (MBIs). This includes exploring the potential of environmental tax reform, not only for employment, but also for innovation and competitiveness and, in particular, for stimulating  'eco-innovation'. This includes an ongoing study Environmental Tax Reform in Europe in the context of an ageing population in Europe: implication for eco-innovation and for household distribution.

Together with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the EEA manages the OECD/EEA database of economic instruments for environmental policy. This covers information about environment-related taxes and charges/fees, deposit refund schemes, tradable permits, environment-friendly subsidies and voluntary agreements. The EEA is also responsible for information gathering for the 15 EEA non-OECD countries.

To support the application of the precautionary principle, a second edition of the volume 'Late lessons from early warnings', is currently being prepared. This will include case studies by experts in the dangers of human economic activities.

The EEA is also the host of the Secretariat for the network of the Heads of the European Environmental Protection Agencies.

Taxes are the indicator of a civilised society, said Roosevelt. Is Environmental Tax Reform the indicator of a sustainable society?

Jacqueline McGlade, Global conference on environmental taxation, 2007

Geographical coverage

[+] Show Map

Document Actions

Comments

Archive
Sign up now!
Get notifications on new reports and products. Currently we have 33186 subscribers. Frequency: 3-4 emails / month.
Notifications archive
Follow us
 
 
 
 
 
European Environment Agency (EEA)
Kongens Nytorv 6
1050 Copenhagen K
Denmark
Phone: +45 3336 7100