# Biodiversity

# **CSI 008 Designated areas**

# Indicator definition:

The indicator is defined as the cumulative area of designated areas according to national legislation over time expressed in hectares (ha) and in the percentage of national land area.

#### Key policy question:

What measures are being taken to ensure the in situ conservation of biodiversity components in the Western Balkans?

# Past and present trends

## Key message:

The Western Balkan region has seen an increase in total area under national protection since the 1980s, reaching 6.5 % in 2007. Figures vary from country to country with the highest percentage recorded in Albania with 10.4 %, followed by Croatia 8.5 %, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia 7.4 %, Serbia 6.3 %, Bosnia and Herzegovina 0.8 %.

### Cumulative national designated areas over time in the West Balkan region until 2008





Note: Overlap may exist due to multiple designations for a same site. \* Data for Croatia in 2007 actually correspond to 2008.

## Assessment:

The Western Balkan region has seen an increase in total area under national protection since the 1980s. The total reached 1 816 846 ha in 2007. The highest percentage of total land area is recorded in Albania (10.4 %) and the lowest in Bosnia and Herzegovina (of 0.77 %), due to a switch to a new IUCN classification scheme.

IUCN categorisation has been integrated in national legislation in only three countries Albania, Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

Some of the countries have introduced national targets for protected areas. For example, Serbia is targeting to protect 10 % of the territory by 2010, while the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia has an even higher target of 12 %.

Albania: the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Water Administration. Source:

Bosnia and Herzegovina and Serbia: CDDA, 7.5 v. Croatia: Registry of protected natural values, Ministry of Culture.

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: CDDA; Emerald database.

# Temporal coverage: 1980s-2007.

Spatial coverage: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia.

